Pre-School Education for Children: Early Years Foundation Stage

Small World aims to help build the foundations for a lifetime of learning.  Our approach is built around the following ideals:

  • Each child is unique and that every effort should be made to help children develop to their fullest potential.
  • The early years from birth to six are vital and that children need every opportunity to strengthen positive attitudes towards themselves, others and learning.
  • That from a solid foundation they grow to be confident and competent learners for life.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The following paragraphs are intended to provide a basic introduction to the EYFS; further details and resources are available from the nursery if required.

How my child will be learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Click here to download the eyLog user guide for parents. (eyLog for Parents – v5.0.PDF-2.4MB)

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

Communication and language; Listening & attention;
Understanding;  Speaking
Physical development; and Moving & handling;  Health & self care
Personal, social and emotional development. Self confidence & self awareness;
Managing feelings & behaviour;
Making relationships & understanding others


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

Literacy; Reading & writing
Mathematics; Numbers, space, shape & measure
Understanding the world; and People & communities;
The world;  Technology
Expressive arts and design. Exploring & using media & materials;
Being imaginative


Children, families and child development

The EYFS is based on principles of inclusion which means that early years providers oppose discrimination and prejudice and welcome all families and children.  They provide care and education for a wide range of children in environments that enable children to feel safe and supported and which extend their learning and development.

Throughout the EYFS stress is placed upon understanding each child and their family as unique, with different needs and concerns.  Children’s development is presented under six overlapping phases.  This overlap is intended to emphasise the fact that there can be big differences between the development of children of similar ages.  At the same time age can be a cue, when taken with all other factors, to indicate that development may be atypical and that a child may need extra support.